Community Colleges

Mississippi boasts 15 community and junior colleges, two of which are within 65 miles of Choctaw County.

Holmes Community College

Goodman campus – 58 miles from Choctaw County
Grenada Center – 63 miles from Choctaw County

Attala Center – 33 miles from Choctaw County

Holmes also has a campus in Ridgeland as well as extensions at other locations, including Yazoo County.
Holmes offers internet-based courses through eLearning.

Students from Choctaw County may qualify to receive the Sumners Grant for credit-bearing coursework taken at any Holmes site, including through eLearning.

Holmes offers the following:
Associate of Arts (AA) degree –academic coursework transferrable to 4-year institutions
Associate of Applied Science (AAS) degree, Technical certificates, and Career certificates- approximately 30 Career/Technical Education programs designed for work readiness, including certificates of a minimum of 2 semesters in length
Workforce Training
Adult Basic Education
GED Classes & Testing

East Mississippi Community College – Golden Triangle Campus

40 miles from Choctaw County in Mayhew, MS;

A wide selection of academic courses are available at EMCC. Students can earn an Associate of Arts or Associate of Applied Science degrees. Those planning to transfer to a senior college may generally apply half of the hours required for a bachelor’s degree to a four-year college or university.

  • Campus in Scooba
  • Extensions at the Columbus Air Force Base, Meridian Naval Air Station, Macon, and West Point.

Career and Technical Programs

East Mississippi also offers 28 career and technical programs and Adult Basic Education. EMCC awards Vocational Certificate of Proficiency for career students.

Workforce Training Programs

To learn about workforce training offered at EMCC and Holmes Community College, visit the Workforce Training page.