Home >>

Community Colleges

Mississippi boasts 6 community colleges (view map), two of which are within 65 miles of Choctaw County.

Holmes Community College

Goodman campus – 58 miles from Choctaw County
Grenada Center – 63 miles from Choctaw County

With a variety of academic, technical and career programs, Holmes Community College offers Associate degrees in Arts (AA) and Applied Science (AAS), and Career certificates.  Many liberal arts courses are transferable to a four-year institution. Adult Basic Education and GED classes are available at the Attala Educational Center. The college also offers internet-based courses through its eLearning Program.

Departments include

  • Associate Degree Nursing
  • Business Administration/Accounting
  • Computer Science
  • English/Foreign Language
  • Fine Arts
  • Mathematics
  • Natural Science
  • Physical Education
  • PreCore Studies
  • Social Science
  • Speech and Theatre

East Mississippi Community College – Golden Triangle Campus

40 miles from Choctaw County in Mayhew, MS; www.eastms.edu

A wide selection of academic courses are available at EMCC. Students can earn an Associate of Arts or Associate of Applied Science degrees. Those planning to transfer to a senior college may generally apply half of the hours required for a bachelor’s degree to a four-year college or university.

  • Campus in Scooba
  • Extensions at the Columbus Air Force Base, Meridian Naval Air Station, Macon, and West Point.

Career and Technical Programs

East Mississippi also offers 28 career and technical programs and Adult Basic Education. EMCC awards Vocational Certificate of Proficiency for career students.

Workforce Training Programs

To learn about workforce training offered at EMCC and Holmes Community College, visit the Workforce Training page.

Website by Kathy Jacobs Design & Marketing, LLC